Carter G. Woodson Academy of Black Studies

Academy of Black Studies

Mission

Our academy deepens students' understanding of the beauty and resilience of the Black Diaspora while nurturing, cultivating and empowering students to be critical thinkers through reading, writing, discourse and creative expression. The humanities-based courses take students on a journey through Africa’s rich past, the Transatlantic Slave Trade and presentday in order to forge the future.

 Our Beliefs

  • We believe Black Lives Matter
  • We believe Black studies matter
  • We believe that learning about and celebrating one’s history and culture is important to the development of identity and sense of self
  • We believe in the importance of community, and that we are stronger together
  • We believe, like Carter G. Woodson, that “Real education means to learn to begin with life as they find it and make it better” and that armed with knowledge our students will change the world and end systemic-oppression

 Teachers

Emory Calhoun, emory.calhoun@k12.dc.gov

Zachary Jackson, zachary.jackson@k12.dc.gov

Margaret Thomas, margaret.thomas@k12.dc.gov

Lawanda Slowe, Lawanda.Slowe@k12.dc.gov

Sabrina Collins, sabrina.collins@k12.dc.gov

Nubia Germa-Rogers, nubia.gerima@k12.dc.gov

 Partners

  • Sankofa Video, Bookstore and Cafe
  • Dunbar Alumni Federation
  • Africana Studies at Howard University
  • Dunbar Alumni Federation
  • Association for the Study of African American Life and History

For more information Contact     
Nubia Gerima-Rogers Director    nubia.gerima@k12.dc.gov

Social Media   @DHSBlackStudies  #BlackStudiesMatter    #LivingTheLegacy


 

Dunbar StudentsDunbar StudentsDunbar Students
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.