About Us

150 years of excellence

Paul Laurence Dunbar is the first high school to serve African-Americans in the United States. Dunbar High School defied the odds and in the process changed America.

In the first half of the twentieth century, Washington D.C’s Dunbar High was an academically elite public school, despite being racially segregated by law and existing at the mercy of racist congressmen who held the school’s purse strings.

The school’s well-educated teachers developed generations of high-achieving African Americans, groundbreakers that included the first black member of a presidential cabinet, the first black graduate of the US Naval Academy and the legal mastermind behind school desegregation.


Enrollment
Early Enrollment for School Year 2021-22 Has Begun


ENROLL NOW

Each school year, all Dunbar families are required to submit a completed enrollment packet to Dunbar High School. This includes proving DC residency. For complete information and access to the enrollment packet, click here: https://enrolldcps.dc.gov/node/76Families can also submit documents in-person at Dunbar HS Monday through Friday from 9:00 am – 3:00 pm.

All families must submit documents to prove DC residency within Dunbar's enrollment boundary. The parent/guardian’s name on the enrollment form must match the name on the DC residency verification document(s). The easiest documents to provide for this may be photos of your driver’s license and car registration.

Click here to visit Dunbar HS Enrollment 


SUMMER ACCEELERATED PROGRAM
Register
Summer Brideg 2021


Dunbar Virtual Classroom


ASpen
Canvas
Office 365

Need Tech Help 
DCPS-
HELP DESK


DCPS Tech Help


Student login issues? 
Go to 
https://backtoschool.dc.gov
for a tech FAQ, including password reset help.


If you are still having problems with your computer, 
call (202) 442-5885  and press “1” to be connected to the 
DCPS Family & Student Tech Call Center, where a person will help you. Call volumes are high. 


NEED A DUPLICATE DIPLOMA 
OR TRANSCRIPTS
CLICK HERE


dunbar on twitter

CALENDAR

Aug
02
Mon
All Day
Aug
03
Tue
All Day
Aug
04
Wed
All Day
Aug
05
Thu
All Day
Aug
06
Fri

Dunbar Re-Open

Dunbar Academies

Engineering Academy

@DCDunbarEA
Video Playback 
Play Video

CGWBA
nubia.gerima@k12.dc.gov
@DunbarHSDC
Video Playback 
Play Video

Dunbar Academy Of Law & Policy

shelina.warren@k12.dc.gov
@DunbarLPP
Website-dunbarlpp.org
Video Playback
Play Video

SMA
douglas.jacobs@k12.dc.gov
@DunbarDCSports
 Video Playback
Play Video

Video Playback

SCHOOL DIRECTORY

Nadine Smith, Principal
Nadine.smith@k12.dc.gov
Errol  Johnson, 9th Grade AP
Errol.johnson@k12.dc.gov
Milton Laurence,10th Grade AP
milton.laurence@k12.dc.gov
Dr. McMillan, 11th Grade AP
demarcus.mcmillan@k12.dc.gov
Tonya Kabia, 11th Grade AP
tonya.kabia@k12.dc.gov 
Shanice English, 12th Grade AP
shanice.english@k12.dc.gov 
Quinton Buttram, DSL
quinton.buttram@k12.dc.gov

Student  Support

DUNBAR REGISTRAR
Enrollment
Transcript

Janice Best
janice.best@k12.dc.gov
577-440-2304

Joy Small
joy.small@k12.dc.gov
571-440-2393

recent news