About Us

150 years of excellence

Paul Laurence Dunbar is the first high school to serve African-Americans in the United States. Dunbar High School defied the odds and in the process changed America.

In the first half of the twentieth century, Washington D.C’s Dunbar High was an academically elite public school, despite being racially segregated by law and existing at the mercy of racist congressmen who held the school’s purse strings.

The school’s well-educated teachers developed generations of high-achieving African Americans, groundbreakers that included the first black member of a presidential cabinet, the first black graduate of the US Naval Academy and the legal mastermind behind school desegregation.


canvas
HAVING PROBLEMS WITH CANVAS
CLICK HERE


Dunbar Virtual Classroom


ASpen
Canvas
Office 365

Need Tech Help 
DCPS-
HELP DESK


DCPS Tech Help


Student login issues? 
Go to 
https://backtoschool.dc.gov
for a tech FAQ, including password reset help.


If you are still having problems with your computer, 
call (202) 442-5885 
and press “1” to be connected to the 
DCPS Family & Student Tech Call Center, 
where a person will help you. 
Call volumes are high. 
Please try the link above first.



NEED HELP WITH YOUR SURFACE TABLET

Schedule Appointment with School Tech



NEED A DUPLICATE DIPLOMA 
OR TRANSCRIPTS
CLICK HERE



 
NEW BUTTON
VIRTUAL SCHOOL SCHEDULE

Class of 2021
DOWNLOAD
SENIOR BOOK HERE

CALENDAR

Dec
09
Wed
1:10PM - 2:00PM
Dec
10
Thu
Dec
16
Wed
1:10PM - 2:00PM

Dunbar Academies

Engineering Academy

kourtney.purham @k12.dc.gov
@DCDunbarEA
Video Playback 
Play Video

CGWBA
nubia.gerima@k12.dc.gov
@DunbarHSDC
Video Playback 
Play Video

Dunbar Academy Of Law & Policy

shelina.warren@k12.dc.gov
@DunbarLPP
Website-dunbarlpp.org
Video Playback
Play Video

SMA
douglas.jacobs@k12.dc.gov
@DunbarDCSports
 Video Playback
Play Video

Video Playback

SCHOOL DIRECTORY

Nadine Smith, Principal
Nadine.smith@k12.dc.gov
Errol  Johnson, 9th Grade AP
Errol.johnson@k12.dc.gov
Dr. McMillan, 10th Grade AP
demarcus.mcmillan@k12.dc.gov
Tonya Kabia, 11th Grade AP
tonya.kabia@k12.dc.gov 
Shanice English, 12th Grade AP
shanice.english@k12.dc.gov 
Tiffany Goodman, AP
tiffany.goodman2@k12.dc.gov 
Quinton Buttram, DSL
quinton.buttram@k12.dc.gov

Student  Support

DUNBAR REGISTRAR
Enrollment
Transcript

Janice Best
janice.best@k12.dc.gov
577-440-2304

Joy Small
joy.small@k12.dc.gov
571-440-2393

recent news

Shelina
Congratulations to Shelina Warren for being named a 2021 DC Teacher of the Year runner up!

Afterschool program

NAF Logo
Congratulations

Julianne Williams
DEA Class of 2021
NAF VIRTUAL INTERN
 Video Playback
Play Video

Afterschool program